A Nation of Inanition

one would be mistaken
to assume there’s a correlation between technological proliferation and widespread compassion

because on the contrary
the lack of genuine sensitivity
as evidenced by a people’s preferences
when you explore what captures their interests
and their participation in the creation of what ultimately becomes popular

the disconnected concern
the empty awareness and careless candour
objective observances of the world’s plight which never compel one to act

but act s/he will
as long as there’s a promise of pleasure

 

Heath Muchena, 2017

4 Comments on “A Nation of Inanition”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    I like your creative use of words. I would name your last two lines sardonic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    That’s a fair assessment ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜€ do you reckon they are misplaced? Think it would read better without the inadvertent low-blow? Give me the greenlight and I shall gladly wipe them off ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. vivachange77 says:

    Not at all misplaced. I think these lines make your point eloquently. I’m touched that you are consulting me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Oh, that’s good to know, thanks! I trust your judgement and feedback because there’s always honesty in your commentary.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

