Sunbeam Massacre: The Return of Chainsaw Al

If Renan’s definition of nationhood i.e. “having done great things together and wishing to do more” does hold some basis in fact, then I suppose it also mirrors Miles’ view that “collaborative entrepreneurship is a business model for continuous innovation.” And with that said, need I add a reminder of our past glory, or allude to the enormous potential for continued success the despite previous predicament?

I’m not sure it’d be of much help.

It all depends. Are you ready to pardon the misconduct and lay to rest the fact that I used the bill-and-hold basis to inflate revenues during those down quarters?

Forgiveness is one thing but to look past the deed or try to pretend it never happened would be foolish. I’m sure you agree it’s a bit much to ask…

Admittedly I was wrong for taking those desperate measures; but put yourself in my position. Wouldn’t it seem rather unfair to you if someone you had an otherwise rewarding relationship with – tainted by a temporary expedient – totally disregarded the many miles you walked the right path all because of a few steps taken in the wrong direction?

I can see how you could’ve lost sight of the bigger picture under all that investor and stakeholder pressure. But you can’t say you didn’t know any better than to go down that route.

That’s all in the past now. And don’t take my word for it. Let me prove it to you and to self for that matter. All you need to do is just give me this one last chance to show you the sun never loses its shine. Rest assured it will beam bright again!

Maybe you’re right. I just might…

 

Heath Muchena, 2017

Leave a Reply

