The Price of Rights

I just don’t understand why you want a seat at the table. Yes – you’re perfectly able, but your demands threaten to make the whole establishment unstable. When did you become so ambitious? This puts me in a difficult position, you do understand? They won’t like it. Not one bit!

Oh, I understand. But you see, the fountain of knowledge flows like a current that knows no colour. And to answer your question… since the advent of information access. Look, it’s not my intention to raffle feathers. I respect what you’ve built here. And maybe you’re all right. So how about I do everyone a favour and just sign my rights to the papers away. It’s can be that simple. You have the figure… that’s my price!

Money is an economic reality closely tied to the social complex and only it’s fair distribution will bring about a lasting solution to the prevailing disorder. But we need to put matters of human nature on the back burner for now, and just focus on the human condition.

Well said. You know, when I realised that joining a movement has little to do with one’s commitment to a cause, that’s when it also dawned on me that surely God hears no prayer whose sole purpose is obtaining wealth. And to be honest with you, it comes as no surprise that you don’t want to afford me any titles and I’m perfectly fine with that. Too many times I have witnessed sanctity bestowed on the pious.

So what are you saying?

I’m saying that you can keep everything if we can agree on the price.

2 Comments on “The Price of Rights”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    I guess things come down to the last line in the end. Clever. I like your subtle interior rhymes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great way of putting it – “interior rhymes” no doubt.

    Like


Leave a Reply

