No Woman, No I

There’s a young lady in my life
Resourceful, loves to help the needy
And raises her daughter so well
It amazes me

I have a sister who has noble aspirations
Smart achiever, a believer
With two beloved boys
They like to talk to uncle on the phone and flatter me

I have another sister
Reminds me a little of myself 
Full of potential and destined to win
She has the coolest son
The most handsome little fellow

I have a mother
Larger than life
Firmly grounded, with the biggest heart
The deepest thinker I know
I found a best friend in she

I had a grandmother
Pillar of the family
Well-respected, nursed an entire province
Legendary status

All the women in my life
Are who inspire me!

15 Comments on “No Woman, No I”

  1. Mary says:

    Good to see your work again heath! Beautiful writing, a lot of heart and soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. glowofmind says:

    Reminds me of my grandmom 🙂 who used to nurse an entire province. Lovely read.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Mary, what’s really strange is that I actually thought about your work and that of a few of my others – reminding self to make the time to stay updated on your progress which I definitely will. Hope you’ve been busy with your pencils and brushes 🙂 Thank you so much, glad you’re enjoying!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Much appreciated, glad you can relate. Thank you very much 🙂

    Like

  5. I simply love this!! Glad to start my Friday with this one

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You have set down, in much finer verse, the sentiments I have towards the key women in my life. Well done, as ever, Heath.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary says:

    Your welcome and I’m hoping to be able to put a little more time into blogging than over the last 6 months or so – it’s been set aside for a bit. Take care and hope to see more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sure, as long as you’re all right. Have a nice weekend, take care and catch up soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mary says:

    Thank you my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. vivachange77 says:

    Your tribute to the women in your family shines with your love. I have the feeling that they hold you in their hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Appreciate it, thank you ♥

    Like

  12. Pleased it has resonance. Thank you sir.

    Like

  13. Lucky to have you!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I too, reckon they do 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

