63 on the Quay

after an intimate walk on the wharf

they had a quiet talk on the terrace

and there she said:

“I stopped wishing you were my man long ago

because I know no one can ever have all of you

and now I just wish he was more like you

but I know he can never truly have me

just as I’ll never really have you but still can’t let you go”

 

© Heath Muchena, 2014

5 Comments on “63 on the Quay”

  1. I really like this, the simple, honest language of conversation and the development of the ultimate irony. Why do some people, perhaps especially the young, believe that we can each actually totally “know” another person? Age has taught me the richness of complexity of a partner in a relationship. Not a plug here, I don’t think so but I may be fooling myself about this. But this year, I had a chapbook, Spent, published by a small literary press. On my site of course. Anyway, it’s a collection and reflection on love and intimacy that I’ve experienced over sixty-six years of loving, losing, keeping, reflecting. I submitted it because I thought might have meaning and familiarity for others who have loved and learned. Isn’t that everyone? What I wanted to tell you, besides the fact that I love your poem, is that I thought my book was for a readership of women, that it would speak only to women. I’m ashamed of that because I realized how sexist I was being! Love is love is love. You’ve captured that. Thank you.

    Like

  2. I of July says:

    Hello Sara

    thank you for the kind comment, I’m glad the piece connected. Yes, I completely agree with you – ”the richness and complexity of a partner ” I’ve found ‘youth’ has no appreciation for or perhaps we just have limited understanding – of ourselves and others too. ”Sixty-six years of loving” – I’d be a fool not to read Spent – I will be sure to check it. And I don’t mind reading works by women deemed for women because in them are insights I wouldn’t find otherwise 🙂

    Like

  3. How very nice that you have shown that you are a young man of wisdom. First your insight about “youth” and the necessity of learning as we grow, no one else can do it for us. Also, it is a wise man who seeks to know the many facets of womanhood : ) Thank you for your comments, they made me happy, Also, since reflecting on your poem and your response, I’m reblogging yours in a piece about how writers learn from each other. It prompted some new thoughts, and I’m going to incorporate them with your poem. Some will be from my conversation today with you. Then in another post I’ll share a poem Jigsaw Afternoon, which may seem way too simplistic compared to your poem’s insight into love. But maybe if you look you can find the part where I’m trying to say that people put pieces of one another together to make a loving relationship. We can not become the same. I just did another reflection today prompted by another younger person’s blog, Chalkboard Quotes. It led to my reflection about parenting of all things. It just went right there. When I read the quote, I knew I wanted to talk about it. Then posted a poem, of course : ) I’m wondering if I make sense to young people. It’s about how it’s hard to transition from being the mother of a child to being a mother of an adult. Thank you so much for sharing. Take care.
    Sally

    Like

  4. zikaolofin says:

    Nice. Paradoxically nice.

    Like


Leave a Reply

