The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble ix

Setting: Humble Studios
Personae: Cocky Humble, a sculptor; Sonia, his longtime lover and business manager

They won’t budge.

Give it time, I’m sure they’ll come around. Creativity is King!

Cliché – maybe in a world ideal, but in this… Commerce is King. And that’s what’s real. So, do we have a deal?

I suppose if we take Stephen Pearl Andrews’ Cost-Value Principle wholly into consideration…

Without question… they’re convinced the offer is justified on the basis of time and effort at the best rate but not on the value estimate of impact the piece is expected to have, although it’s the power of the symbol they’re interested in, and not so much the art of sculpture. To their own admission, the only reason they’re offering you the commission is because you came highly recommended and they just want certainty the artist can deliver on the vision for their grand opening.

Well, in that case I admire the fact they are honest. Fine, I’ll do it.

Excellent. It’s a fair offer…

I know. You wouldn’t present it to me otherwise. You have our best interests…

Always. That settled, I think now we should celebrate.

Oh yes, let’s… for what it’s worth!

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

6 Comments on “The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble ix”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    Nice vignette. Ironic state of art.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good morning….I want to tell you how much I enjoy reading your peoms….superb…Janet:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    Thanks dear, I agree completely. That’s the underlying theme. Glad you like it

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    Dear Janet, I don’t know what to say other than thank you from the bottom… I do it for you. Have a wonderful day. Love and blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cat9984 says:

    Love the last line – pretty much sums up the conversation

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    Uh, yes… you picked up on that 🙂 glad you enjoyed it.

    Like


Leave a Reply

